Nils Landgren & Esbjörn Svensson
Layers of Light
Listen to samples at:

It was through the influence of Landgren and Svensson’s former teacher Bengt-Arne Wallin, who recorded the landmark album “Old Folklore In Swedish Modern” back in 1962 (ACT 9254-2), that Svensson and Landgren were inspired to make a duo album centered around folk songs. In August 1997 both went into the studio and with only trombone and piano recorded Swedish Folk Modern (ACT 9257-2). Their improvised treatments of the classic songs of the folk culture not only impressed the public; it brought praise from the press. Svensson and Landgren had created more than just a few impressions in duo. Discarding any sort of large conceptual superstructure, they had continued what Jan Johansson’s Jazz på Svenska and Bengt-Arne Wallin had begun in the early sixties and what has since become a major force within the inner workings of European jazz. The time after Swedish Folk Modern was hectic and exciting. Nils Landgren’s Funk Unit advanced to the position of a celebrated festival act. Svensson’s own trio, EST expanded beyond Scandinavia’s borders, where the band’s fortunes skyrocketed. Inundated with jobs, the musicians finally found the time to once again get together in December 1999 in Oslo’s Rainbow Studio. It would be a meeting full of exceptional jazz energy. Even more than the first time, they would rely on the force of reduction. Moods would be suggested, left open. Melodies worked out in simple clarity. Delicate variations supplemented and amplified both the original and traditional motifs of the central musical im- pressions. Layers of Light is an affair of the hearts of two artists who went back to their roots. That makes their music truthful, direct, and authentic in a wondrous way.

Line Up
Nils Landgren – trombone
Esbjörn Svensson – piano

Track list:
01 Song From The Valley (Vallåt från Hammerdal)
02 Calling The Goats (Get-Trall)
03 Kauk (Slatt-Kauk)
04 Kristallen (Kristallen den fina)
05 Mattmar (Vallåt från Mattmar)
06 Låkk (Låkk-Låt)
07 Höpsi ((Halling Efter Höpsi – Kerstin)
08 Calling the cows (Vallåt 261)
09 Lullaby (Vagg-Visa)
10 Simple Song (Thuresson´s Visa)
11 Layers Of Light (Esbjörn Svensson)
12 Lonely At The Lakeside (Psalm)
13 Norwegian Fox Trot (Halling)
14 Nils Walksong (Gånglåt Efter Lapp Nils)
15The Farewell (Bengt-Arne Wallin)

Traditional music arranged by Nils Landgren & Esbjörn Svensson Except “Layers Of Light” and “The Farewell”
Produced by Siegfried Loch Recorded at 2. und 3. Dezember 1999
by Jan-Erik Kongshaug at Rainbow Studio, Oslo. Mastered by Jan-Erik Kongshaug.
(c) & (p) 2001 ACT Music+Vision GmbH & Co. KG